Make a group opaque

2D CAD software for Windows, Mac OS X and Linux
Post Reply
Mikerosen
Posts: 279
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2011 6:16 pm
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Contact:

Make a group opaque

Post by Mikerosen » Thu Aug 16, 2018 9:46 pm

I have drawn a fireplace surround. I would like it to be opaque, so that it covers up the brick texture background. How? I can make a square or rectangle fill with a color, but not a complex shape, nor an opaque white fill.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2018-08-16 at 2.43.16 PM.png
Screen Shot 2018-08-16 at 2.43.16 PM.png (8.42 KiB) Viewed 1377 times
Mike Rosen
Seattle, WA, USA

Mac OS 10.14, iOS 11.4.1 on iPad Pro

debenriver
Posts: 461
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 9:19 pm
Location: Maine USA and Suffolk England
Contact:

Re: Make a group opaque

Post by debenriver » Fri Aug 17, 2018 12:40 am

Hi Mike

You can select the lines making up the shape and convert them to a polygon. Then you can fill them with colour, white or black. If you select the outer lines and inner lines in your fireplace surround and make them into a polygon, fill it with colour, then send it backward, your other 'feature' lines will show on top OK. You may also need to send the brickwork to the back - depending on the order you drew things.

You can also make the colour transparent to a greater or lesser extent in the % box alongside the colour box. Hit the enter key after you have typed in a %. I guess for this purpose you wouldn't be wanting to do this, but it can be quite interesting for features (to represent a moulding for example).

The only thing is that to make a complete polygon, the ends of the lines do need to join, so you need to draw them using snap E – or if they originally ran past each other, cut them to join – using the Cut and extend tool (U), the cutting tool (M) or the Action >>Cut lines with lines – whichever is your fancy, or appropriate.

I think I've understood correctly what you want to do?? Something like this:
Screen Shot 2018-08-16 at 20.50.55.png
Screen Shot 2018-08-16 at 20.50.55.png (10.57 KiB) Viewed 1374 times
Cheers -- George

Mikerosen
Posts: 279
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2011 6:16 pm
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Contact:

Re: Make a group opaque

Post by Mikerosen » Fri Aug 17, 2018 2:32 pm

George,
I was able to do it just as you said, but I can't seem to come up with an opaque white.

thanks,
Mike
Mike Rosen
Seattle, WA, USA

Mac OS 10.14, iOS 11.4.1 on iPad Pro

debenriver
Posts: 461
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 9:19 pm
Location: Maine USA and Suffolk England
Contact:

Re: Make a group opaque

Post by debenriver » Fri Aug 17, 2018 3:08 pm

Mike - white is usually the default fill - Ok, the little colour box looks empty but in fact it is filled with white. Just check the "Back" box and you will fill the selected object with white.

The image is with 4.90 - the attributes pallet is slightly different with earlier version, but the fill system is the same.

Screen Shot 2018-08-17 at 11.05.34.png
Screen Shot 2018-08-17 at 11.05.34.png (21.79 KiB) Viewed 1367 times
Cheers -- George

PS - I'm waiting until all (most?) of the bugs with 4.90 are smoothed out before updating the manual

Post Reply